What are the chief ship certificates required by the SOLAS Convention?

(1) Passenger Ship Safety Certificate (PSSC);Β 

(2) Cargo Ship Safety Construction Certificate (SCC); (3) Cargo Ship Safety Equipment Certificate (SEC); (4) Cargo Ship Safety Radio Certificate (SRC); (5) Cargo Ship Safety Certificate (CSSC); and (6) Safe Manning Document (SMD). These are sometimes collectively called “SOLAS certificates” or “safety certificates”. SOLAS also requires the issue of an Exemption Certificate when an exemption from a SOLAS requirement is permitted.


What do you think?

138 Points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Which UK regulations enforce SOLAS survey and certification requirements in the UK?

A ship carries a Statement of Compliance issued by a classification society. Is it statutory or non-statutory?