What is Polar Class?

A designation of seven classes (PC 1, PC 2, PC 3, PC 4, PC 5, PC 6 and PC 7) assigned by IACS under Unified Requirement UR I to ships (other than icebreakers) intended to operate in polar regions. In addition to structural and machinery requirements as for ice class ships, there are propeller design requirements.

What do you think?

138 Points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

What is an Ice Certificate?

Which other regional organisations publish designations for ice classes?