Which areas have been designated by IMO as Particularly Sensitive Sea Areas?

Great Barrier Reef, Australia (designated in 1990);Β 

Sabana-Camaguey Archipelago, Cuba (1997); Malpelo Island, Colombia (2002); the sea around the Florida Keys, USA (2002); Wadden Sea, Denmark, Germany, and Netherlands (2002); Paracas National Reserve, Peru (2003); Western European Waters (2004); Extension of the existing Great Barrier Reef PSSA to include the Torres Strait (2005); Canary Islands, Spain (2005); Galapagos Archipelago, Ecuador (2005); Baltic Sea area, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Sweden (2005); Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument, United States(2007); Strait of Bonifacio, France and Italy (2011); Saba Bank, in the North-eastern Caribbean area of the Netherlands (2012).


Share this:

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

Does the revised MARPOL Annex VI adopted in 2008 designate any SO2 Emission Control Areas?

What is a Particularly Sensitive Sea Area (PSSA)?