For many years the MCA has operated MRCCs (Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centres) around the UK coast. What will happen to MRCCs in the new Coastguard structure?

Forth, Clyde, Yarmouth, Liverpool, Thames, Swansea, Brixham and Portland MRCCs will close progressively by 31 March 2015. The centre at Solent will be replaced by the new Maritime Operations Centre. The other MRCCs (Aberdeen, Shetland, Stornoway, Belfast, Holyhead, Milford Haven, Falmouth and Humber) will become Coastguard Centres.

Share this:

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

What functions will the new Maritime Operations Centre at Fareham, and the standby MOC at Dover, discharge in the new Coastguard system?

Outline the modernised structure of Coastguard operations in the UK as announced by the UK Government in November 2011.