Outline the modernised structure of Coastguard operations in the UK as announced by the UK Government in November 2011.

There will be a national network of 9 Coastguard Centres with a single Maritime Operations Centre (MOC) at its heart, all operating 24 hours a day.Β 

The MOC will be at Fareham (near Southampton) and a standby MOC will be at Dover, where the Channel Navigation Information Service will continue to operate. The other 8 Coastguard Centres will be at Aberdeen, Shetland, Stornoway, Belfast, Holyhead, Milford Haven, Falmouth and Humber. Additionally, a small Coastguard centre co-located at London with the Port of London Authority will continue to operate. The Coastguard Rescue Service will continue to operate with about 3, 500 volunteer coastguards for coastal searches, cliff and mud rescues, and rescue of people from water, etc. MCA headquarters will continue to be at Southampton.


Share this:

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

For many years the MCA has operated MRCCs (Maritime Rescue Co-ordination Centres) around the UK coast. What will happen to MRCCs in the new Coastguard structure?

What are the chief functions of HM Coastguard?