What are “Tier I, Tier II and Tier III standards “?

Nitrogen oxides (NOx) emission limits applicable to diesel engines (other than emergency engines) of over 130 kW output power installed in ships of different dates of construction. Tier I standards were defined in the 1997 version of Annex VI. Tier II and Tier III standards were introduced by the revised Annex VI adopted in 2008 and which came into force on 1 July 2010.

Share this:

Written by Ship Inspection

Leave a Reply

What engines does the Tier I standard apply to?

How does the revised MARPOL Annex VI regulate emissions of nitrogen oxides?